July 14, 2024

…As one out of nominees did not appear before lawmakers

The Ondo State House of Assembly, yesterday, screened and confirmed five out of the six commissioner-nominees, whose names were forwarded to the Assembly last week by Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa.

The five nominees, who were cleared and confirmed by the lawmakers during Tuesday’s plenary, were a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Kayode Ajulo, Mr Razaq Obe, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Mr Akinwumi Sowore and Mr. Oseni Oyeniyi.

The sixth nominee, Mrs. Omowumi Isaac, did not appear before the lawmakers.

The Speaker of the House,  Olamide Oladiji, who is the chairman of the House Selection Committee, said Isaac “is unavoidably absent and she will be screened later.”

The confirmation of the five others followed the submission and consideration of a report by the Speaker-led committee.

While submitting the report, the Deputy Speaker of the House, Abayomi Akinruntan, recommended the confirmation of the appointment of the nominees whom he said had been properly screened.

The Majority Leader of the House,   Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi, moved the motion for the confirmation of the nominees and it was seconded by Felix Afe representing Akoko North West 2.

The Speaker, who ruled for the confirmation, congratulated the commissioners-designate, urging them to put in their best.

He also pledged that the House would support the executive for the people to enjoy more dividends of democracy dividend.

Aiyedatiwa became the substantive Governor of Ondo State on December 27, 2023, following the death of his principal, Governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

Immediately after Akeredolu’s death, a number of the cabinet members resigned their from positions, while Aiyedatiwa, on January 24 dissolved the entire cabinet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *