A political activist and former Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Comrade Timi Frank, has made public the proposed names of eight Justices allegedly ‘handpicked’ to hear the appeal of the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Alhaji Atiku Abubakar.

Frank said the eight Justices about to be named were handpicked by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), hence their rejection.

The names made public by Frank include: Hon.Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, Hon. Justice Bode Rhodes -Vivour, Hon.Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, Hon. Justice Amiru Sanusi, Hon. Justice John Inyang Okoro. Hon. Justice Ejembi Eko, Hon. Justice Taboo and Hon. Justice M. Abaji.

In a statement issued in Abuja and made available to newsmen, Frank raised an alarm that those selected to handle the Supreme Court case were not based on the order of seniority.

“I have a privilege information to the effect that the underlisted names have been handpicked by the CJN in connivance with the presidency to do the bidding of the presidency and APC.

“The singular motive behind these names which is against the known norm of picking names according to seniority which is a tradition the law profession takes very seriously, is to endorse the court of Appeal judgment.

“By this statement, let it be known that concerned citizens outrightly rejects the list and any pre conceived outcome.

“One wonders why the list is coming out at this time when it is just few days to the hearing of the appeal. It is clear to all well meaning Nigerians that it is for the sole aim of boxing the opposition to a corner where they will have no option than to accept the list”, Frank said.

The Bayelsa born activist called on Nigerians to be vigilant, saying that the time was a difficult one for the country.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *